We’re all in the gutter, but I’m seeing stars!

I cannot believe how long it has been since I sat at my iPad and blogged! Need to start getting regular with this again! Figured I would make this one a little healthy update as to why I’ve been so absent from the world of blogging….
Two Holidays and a Third one pending 

So, since the break up of school I’ve been travelling a little. First up was a little trip to Spain. It’s funny actually, upon booking the trip with my friends we were convinced that we were staying in Barcelona, turns out the only Barcelona related thing about our holiday was the airport haha! This certainly didn’t prevent myself or my friends from making the most of our week away from the UK, we had an amazing time. We stayed in a little three star hotel in the centre of Lloret De Mar. For those of you who love clubbing and love beaches – I would definitely recommend it! Our hotel was nice, but the room was too tooooooooo hot!! It would be hotter in our bedroom than it would be outside, and I’m pretty sure that every morning we could have fried eggs on our backs and had those for breakfast. I’m not even exaggerating, we would wake up in what felt like a puddle, the heat was so intense! Our days were filled with sight seeing, arcade games and some serious flirting with our gorgeous German neighbours, think we all fell a little bit in love while we were away…. Evenings consisted of the same motive, we found a little tapas and shisha bar right around the corner from out hotel. We think it was a family business, and they certainly became our little Spanish family! We sat in the same spot every evening, ordered almost the same thing for dinner, got some shisha and cocktails and would just talk about the day we had. As you can imagine, night time included an awful lot of alcohol and clubbing! Clubs there were pretty good, okay that’s an understatement! Going clubbing abroad is the best! It was insane there, amazing deals on drinks and the music was always on point. 

After returning from Lloret I barely had time to unpack my suitcase as we were off on a little family trip back home to the south of France. It hit me that I hadn’t been over there for about 3 years I think? I cannot explain how excited I was to see my grandparents, auntie and uncle and my lovely cousins who I adore so much. I remember seeing my youngest cousin, Mika, and thinking boyyyyyy you’ve grown up! He speaks like a man, he’s taller than me and he has grown up to be very very cute! I know bringing him back home to visit would get him a lot of attention from English girls ha!! He is such a wonderful young man, i was overwhelmed by pride just being in his company. We get on like a house on fire and I really really miss him! His older sister Maelle and I are very close too! She’s 6 months older than I am and she really is such a great character! The type of person I would be close friends anyway even if we were not related. She introduced us to her boyfriend, he seemed really genuine and friendly! They both gave me a lot of advice for university which was really comforting. Onto Melanie, my mums oldest neice! She’s the biggest shock to me because her age baffles me! I cannot believe she is now in her early twenties! She has a tattoo of a compas on her shoulder which is so well done, it looks stunning! Gosh how they have all grown these past three years …..

My grandparents are a lovely couple! My grandmother over there is a really great cook, and always pulls out all the stops for us when we are there. I spent many a afternoon playing games with her, talking about life and old memories. She showed me loads of picture of when she was young which was really heart warming. You forget that everybody was young once! My grandpa is such an upbeat guy! He’s so cheeky, he’s the life of any party. Always has a funny story behind anything, which if you actually listen to carefully you realise that he is very very intelligent! It was such a good thing to go there this summer, it has made me realise that I never want to spend so many years apart from them again. Malta 2016 with my cousins looks to be next summers motive!!

On Monday, I’m hitting Amsterdam with my girls as a little reward for all my hard work this year… Let me tell you about that
Results day 2015!

What a nervous wreck I was the night before. My goodness! I couldn’t stay at home because my mum knew my results from being head of exams at my school. I know she would never tell me them or even give me a hint, she is the absolute pinnacle of professionalism! It was more for myself really, I didn’t want to be agitated the whole night. Although I still stayed up until 2am refreshing my emails every other minute!

When I woke up I had found that I had been accepted at both my firm AND my insurance universities, I though, blimey! You can’t have done that badly in English then! At this point I was just buzzing to get to school, I kept running through what I remember from my exams in my head. Worse case scenario must be AAB, surly? I worked hard! When I got there my head teacher told me that I would be surprised at one result in particular. My heart sank! I thought…. No! Please don’t tell me I got less than an A in Philosophy…

BUT NO! I smashed it!! I got an A* I’m Philosophy and am in English! My A was in Media! I ran to my mum and just hugged her! I was so happy and she was too, and so proud. Even now, two weeks on she keeps calling me her star and I finally feel like I have really made her proud and feel like a good mum. Because she is, she’s fantastic! Hard work and dedication really pays off, if you want to turn your life around it is never, ever too late! How do I know this? Because I am living proof 😉😉

Now it’s all about the 27th of September! It needs to hurry up, I can’t wait to start uni! 

See you at freshers 😜

Leave a comment